Why ROQ Failed: Lessons We Can All Learn From

I would just ignore this altogether, but I think on some level I owe it to the 35 or so loyal subscribers I’ve got. It really doesn’t deserve it’s own post, but here we go anyway. If nothing else, I’ve been dry on content lately, so it’s given me something to write.

Remember that time long ago when ROQ, despite the hate it got, put out quality content? (Yes, it really happened.)

Well, no more. They’ve thrown down the gauntlet. My suggestion is that we leave it there and ignore it. The article isn’t worth reading, but among other things they’ve accused us of encouraging rape and then pretended it was just an April Fool’s joke.

You may notice I have a comment there. That’s not actually what I wrote at all, although I suppose it’s still my fault. If a snake bites you once, then it’s your fault for getting bitten twice.

Dining With Enemies

I recently made the mistake of interacting with Return of Queens again, now known as Kings and Queens Return. For those of you who don’t know, ROQ was an ROK knock-off for women made last January. They soon began attacking us (so I’m told), and we decided to ignore them altogether. However, I wasn’t around at the time, so when I came across them in August, I thought very favorably of their recent content I had read. One article was on why you should never vote for a woman or a black person because only white men are expected to hold the best interest of everyone. Another was instructing women who want to get married on how to write classy online dating profiles without all the games.

Because I kept an eye on them once every couple months or so, I happened to notice the day they changed the site to KQR. We had a few interactions, and I wrote about it here (they’ve since also screwed with what I wrote on their About page). Somehow Rollo Tomasi found and tweeted it, giving me a huge traffic boost. Cool. During all of this, KQR invited me to write for them, but I declined since it seemed like a conflict of interest.

A few weeks ago, I looked them up out of curiosity. They had a big image that said “Fuck you Google” for canceling their advertising. I wrote them a polite email telling them it was trashy. They sent me a sarcastic personal attack. That’s the point where I should have learned my lesson.

The Manosphere Is For Adults Only

The article from last week is played off as an April Fool’s joke, but it’s thinly veiled. I wrote a comment about how it’s sad the direction the site has gone, and they changed it to a raving compliment. Then they made it so all the comments on the article had to be approved by a moderator so that I couldn’t protest.

This is as much my fault as it is theirs. I naively assumed ROQ had a good heart underneath everything, despite their obvious devolution into bitterness and self-absorption within the last half year or so. Old habits die hard, and I’m still under the delusion that if I just present the right information, I can bring people to agree with me. Therefore I can assume that I will make a similar mistake in the future.

A few Manosphere writers—although ROQ was never quite Manosphere—have changed what commenters’ wrote, and I’ve always found it low class. It’s like a child who delights in controlling others. But at least then that’s just some random hater. No matter what I wrote, the new owner of ROQ would have changed it to spite ROK and me. This was personal for him, not business. Nor was it merely a light-hearted joke.

Normally I wouldn’t care if someone changed my comment, but on the highly unlikely chance that some of my readers actually saw it, it could hurt my reputation. It’s probably considered libel under the law, but I’m not about to sue for something so trivial.

No one reads ROQ/KQR, but it still bothered me. I sent them a message asking them to delete my comment, telling them I had far more internet influence but would keep quiet if they would delete it within the next few hours.

Predictably they haven’t responded and likely won’t. If they do delete it, then I’ll add an update commending them. But I doubt that will happen.

I find it sad. Once upon a time, I was the only ROK columnist who thought ROQ was a positive force in the alt right and had potential to be a major player. Had they changed their name and quit trying to be the lone wolf while also trying to steal readers, then they might have turned into something truly magnificent. The article is a symptom, not the cause, of various things I’ve seen on this site. ROQ didn’t fail merely because they stole our name. ROQ failed because they demand respect instead of seek to earn it, a life lesson anyone can use.

Read More: Men Only Deceive Women If The Women Let Them, Because “Cheap” And “Prostitute” Are Not Synonyms

Leave a Reply

