All Poetry and Such is available for Free; Thoughts on the Manosphere

Hello friends. I’ve made all my formerly Amazon-published writings for free on Scribd.

https://www.scribd.com/document/327347697/BN-Complete-The-Death-of-Ideology-Another-Round-on-the-House-And-Additions

They are no longer on Amazon. You can reprint, republish, and distribute them as much as you like without paying me anything so long as you don’t screw with my original intentions. Kind of vague, but I think it’s clear what I mean. Respect my work, and you can do what you like with it.

So if you’ve ever wanted to read more BN but were too cheap to pay $3, then you can go help yourself now. They aren’t available on Amazon anymore. Or at least I’m in the process of deleting my account.

I’ve also included some additional writings as an appendix. A few of them are really good. Most are negligible, but I put them all the way in the back. The best ones are at the front of the appendix.

******

It’s been a year and a half. You are probably wondering how I’m doing.

Writing for ROK was a great experience I will always be grateful for. Having hundreds of thousands of people clamor to hear my thoughts on life was a very rare experience that I am so glad to have had.

But I’m also glad I don’t write for them anymore. For one thing, the website has changed in ways I don’t like, although I’m not sure Roosh was wrong for making the changes. When I first started writing in September 2014, I wasn’t sure I was allowed to openly say that Christianity is good and secularism is bad, and so I wrote around it and made sure to give the audience what they wanted. My, how things have changed…

But also because I don’t like being obsessed with the bad things in society. Things like ROK or the Alt-Right or TakiMag or what-have-you are great for six months, but after that it starts to grow stale and you feel like you are just re-reading everything.

And also, the comments section on ROK is absolutely awful (unlike the comments section on the BN Blog, at least some times). Seriously guys, go fuck yourselves. I spent hours writing my articles, getting them perfect and obsessing over small details about flow and musicality, writing them a month in advance, and then without even reading them you insult me in the comments section with the worst language you can think up. Show some gratitude. You’ll write a thesis in the comments correcting me but never actually submit something of your own. It’s not like ROK would likely have rejected your slop. When I published my law school article and read the comments, that was the day I truly hated my readers, and so I edited my “Most Men Don’t Deserve A Wife” article to be extra harsh as a “fuck you” to the comments, and then I didn’t read the comments just to make it a waste of their time. You validate every bad stereotype about the Manosphere.

Back on topic. My own writing, most of it is just saying “Girls suck”. And while that’s true that most of the girls of my generation are ugly in every sense of the word and love ugly things in every sense of the word (just go look at the jewelry counter at Belk), there’s only so many ways you can re-iterate that. I wrote more on femininity than on masculinity. Had I continued to write for another year, there would have been very little new. I needed and do need the time off to let it sink it and take its effect. I am in my mid-20s. Do you really expect me to have the world figured out?

Some articles I’m somewhat embarrassed about. I had one saying that pregnant women whose husband dies should give up their newborn for adoption, and there was one on the BN Blog that said women aren’t raped if they only ask the guy to quit. I don’t think I agree with my conclusions on those anymore, but I also still think that morality questions about single motherhood or what constitutes consent are still very difficult to answer. I would say that 95% of my writing I still agree with, but the attitude in general is too arrogant and inexperienced. I think my main problem — and this is something I see throughout my life — was that I was too quick to give an answer to a difficult question. I don’t like walking away from a challenge.

The in-real-life friends I’ve shown my writing to seem to like it much more than I do, so I’m probably being too hard on myself. I think articles on Barbie and Docility were my highlights.

******

The inherent problem with the Manosphere (or whatever they call it today) is one of the conditions of masculinity — you have to pretend you have everything together for other men to respect you. Like all things in masculinity and femininity, this is not inherently good or bad but just is a condition, and it can be used for good or bad based on the situation.

In order to have credibility, the writer has to pretend he has everything figured out. If I were to write, “Really, I’m a pretty lonely guy, and I had a hard time learning to interact with other kids my age growing up, so I’m still processing through all of this, and I almost never go on dates because I only date girls I can see myself marrying, and I live in a black-majority town, and good girls here (or in general) don’t go out with guys they don’t know, and also I belong to a really obscure vein of Christianity that looks like a cult, and I have bad social skills and women can sense my hostility and desperation no matter how much I try to cover it up, but I think I also have some good insights into the fall of civilization”, then it would seem as though everything I wrote was invalid. No one wants to read someone else’s diary (even though I realize there are plenty of badly written diary blogs on the internet, mostly by young liberal women). And so to compensate, I became more of an armchair philosopher and didn’t write much on practicality. The worldview was the same, but because I implied something that wasn’t entirely true (sometimes painfully obviously like in the “Never Envy A Woman” article), it got wider acceptance.

This is why the Manosphere will never go mainstream. Even if it tried, it could never go across this condition, because masculinity (and femininity) is not something that can be erased or modified as needed. The common reader can see that I’m putting on a façade, even if I never technically tell a lie, and so he thinks it’s all just bluffing. After all, not everyone on that site can be Hercules, and some things writers teach (a man’s sexual experience doesn’t hurt his SMV, a man’s SMV improves in his 30s) are so blatantly false, that the rest of society will never trust the Manosphere.

In fairness, that’s not just a Manosphere thing. Even “I’m old and childless and totally happy” Oprah Winfrey does it to peddle her life advice. Nobody wants to take advice from an amateur. But whereas the Oprah genre is just comfort food, what the Manosphere teaches is difficult and sometimes painful and requires a lot of hard changes and personal sacrifice (notice the parallels with Christianity), and so there’s a lot more room for error. It’s more of an all-or-nothing philosophy, but it’s also built from a patchwork of experience and good guesses, so it’s inherently imperfect and constantly changing (here the parallels with Christianity end).

Creative people are, almost by definition, vulnerable sensitive people. This includes the good writers on ROK. The bad writers aren’t creative and aren’t interesting to read, so they don’t matter. But the writers on ROK you like, they are almost certainly sensitive artistic types who had a bad childhood and are trying to make a better life for themselves. And part of that process of making a better life involves a lot of trial and error, which is exactly opposite of the “I have everything altogether” mentality you need to portray to be an expert on life advice. The Manosphere was supposed to be men comparing notes, but due to male nature, it quickly devolved away from that into dick-measuring as soon as it grew popular. And there is definite good in the Manosphere, and there are still writers I like, but “neomasculinity” will never be the mainstream movement it wants to become, and it’s not the kind of genre I want to write, nor is it the kind of audience I want to write for.

You are probably wondering if I will ever go back to ROK some day at least part time. I am open to the possibility, but I probably just torched my chances. If I did go back, I would wait until I had more life experience. At least until I was married. Maybe in a couple years you’ll get another email saying, “New Post on the BN Blog,” but I wouldn’t hold out on it.

ROK is like my short-lived plumbing career. I’m very glad I did it, and I gained a lot of very valuable information. But I’m also very glad I don’t do it anymore.

3 thoughts on “All Poetry and Such is available for Free; Thoughts on the Manosphere

  1. Not sure if you’ll see this, but might as well leave it in case.

    I thought your ROK articles on problems within the church were some of the best and most well-written I’ve read on that subject.

    Reader comments can indeed be brutal. I was happiest as a writer when I was doing it just as a hobby for myself. I wasn’t publishing any of it or worried about what others would think.

    Tenfold agree on the “have it all together” crap. None of us have it together. But we pretend, because to admit otherwise leaves us open to personal attacks rather than critiques of what we have written.

    I get why you gave up the writing gig. It can be exhausting. How many times can you say the same thing, especially there is nothing positive to say? It’s a problem I experience right now. Men want and need to act, not just make observations and whine while reiterating talking points.

    Like

  2. Good writing is candid writing. It is always underappreciated. Such is life. I am enjoying your posts, and I can see a lot of myself at your age, except I would have neverr gone to law school! That was kinda foolish on your part but you learned, it seems. Lawyers are horrible people, the modern justice system is absurd and you are not one of them.

    Just go your own way and don’t join any movement or “sphere”. We are all alone. We belong to life itself, not society. Society is nothing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

